CYCLING IS MORE ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY THAN OTHER FORMS OF TRANSPORT. WHY IS IT NOT POPULAR IN MANY PLACES? AND HOW TO INCREASE ITS POPULARITY.

Bicycles are one of the vehicles that do the least harm to the environment; however, people use them far less than other vehicles. There are several reasons for this, such as time and the inconvenience. There are, however, some solutions to increase the number of cyclists. Firstly, there are several reasons why only a few people choose to use bicycles today. The first disadvantage of cycling is that it is a much slower means of transportation compared to other vehicles travelling on the same route. For example, commuting to my company takes about thirty-five minutes to pedal on a bicycle compared to twenty minutes drive by motorbike. As a result, I have to arrange my schedule to leave home for work fifteen minutes earlier. Secondly, the disadvantage of using bicycles is that it is inconvenient; it requires large amounts of energy to ride; especially on hot days, it is extremely uncomfortable to sweat in a suit, leading to irritation throughout the day after making it difficult to concentrate on tasks. Additionally, several solutions should be implemented to increase the number of people using a bicycle. The first solution could be that the authorities could encourage citizens by utilizing celebrities, showing them riding a bike, living a healthier life. This may result in creating a positive model or example, especially the youth. Another solution could be merged from the project named “public bicycles.” There are racks of bicycles everywhere around the city that are accessible to the public for people to use. The authority has also built a system of paths for cyclists to keep them safe while riding. This increases the habit of using bicycles more often, not only for exercising, but also for a healthier environment. In conclusion, there are some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and solutions should be introduced to promote an environmentally friendly means of transport.