Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

It is widely believed that old customs are only related to history while modernization is considered to be seen in the upcoming time. Some people assume that traditions hinder the development of our society, since our old culture and customs must be put aside. I strongly agree with this notion and I also believe that traditions no longer play an essential role in different facets of life like they used to do. To begin with, the majority of people get a conservative mindset, which causes two main detrimental effects to our society. The first consequence is that people holding old-fashioned thoughts and views result in the collapse of technology. For example, according to some restrictions on religious beliefs, organ donation is not allowed, which can eventually ruin the opportunity to cure for chronic diseases to save humankind. Furthermore, the second result is when believing in old ideas that are no longer suitable, these people can cause obstacles to the improvement of a modern world. For instance, owing to obsolete beliefs, women are not allowed to decide their own jobs and they are restricted to family business. This cannot lead to gender equality which is a necessary foundation to promote a modern community. It is true that the special or unusual features of a country help create the identity of each individual and provide its people with unique local colour. Nevertheless, nowadays, people can define themselves by their personalities, their achievements, not by their ancestors. For example, Albert Einstein made his name for being a theoretical physicist, not because of being a German citizen who celebrated Germany cultural traditions and festivals. In conclusion, on account of the demerit of traditions in terms of preventing the progress of technology and gender equality, I believe that it is necessary to abandon traditions to make way for evolution. Therefore, old beliefs and customs should not play any roles in our life.