These days, more people are going to university than in the past. They start work later in life and with higher qualifications. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

In this day and age, the number of people going for higher studies has increased a lot which causes delay in their career start but with more advanced study. This essay shall outline the key advantages and disadvantages of this statement. One of the prominent pros is the in-depth knowledge gain while pursuing college studies which will boost your career exponentially. It involves real-time case studies and challenging assignments that make an individual capable of competing with this challenging world. Another noteworthy benefit is the extra edge of confidence level one can develop while studying in a university. For example, according to a recent article in The Times, graduates from Stanford University are more capable and have much deeper knowledge as compared to a professional having 5 years of experience in the industry. Opting for higher studies and starting your career late is not without its disadvantages, however. These days, graduating from a renowned university costs a lot of money and to cater this financial problem, students often take educational loans, which leads to stress and depression in some cases. For instance, as per the 2019 reports from the education department of the Ontario province, 20% of students had shown symptoms of depression. Along with that, there are some suicidal cases reported as well which is very disturbing. Also, there are cases where graduate students seem to have lost the enthusiasm and zeal after a certain age as they have already been exhausted a lot during their studies. To conclude, while the benefits of achieving higher educational credentials and starting a late career are enormous, the downsides should not be overlooked.