Some people think that cooking is an important skill for young people to learn. Others believe that it is better for people to learn how to cook after they become adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, both children and parents have a hectic pace of life so it can be hard for the young to learn the skills required to make a meal. However, I believe kids should be taught to cook at an early age as opposed to waiting until adulthood. Many children have a keen interest in food and do not want to rely on their parents for everything. At a young age, it’s a good idea for kids to develop knowledge of food. In this way, they will make more informed choices about what they eat, and they may refuse junk food which is a popular meal choice in the schoolyard. Additionally, if children are taught to cook, they will be more independent and will be able to prepare healthy meals for themselves at times when their parents are too busy with work. Few people believe children should only focus on study and that cooking can be quite dangerous. These parents are somehow obsessed with their children’s academic records and want them to concentrate on schoolwork exclusively. However, in the long run, it is surely more important to develop skills that can help you live a healthy life than to do well on the exams. Also, while kitchens can be scary places with knives and fire if parents are responsible and supervise their kids, then cooking will not be a dangerous activity. To conclude, it’s clear that while the importance of study and the dangers associated with cooking shouldn’t be overlooked, they can both be managed and children should be able to develop their own independence and cooking skills.