Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, the learning process is an issue that has been hotly debated among parents and educators. It has been stated that children and teenagers are spending a considerable amount of time, at schools and universities, on learning facts, instead, they should be taught on learning practical skills. In order to grow as adults, I strongly support the idea of skills’ learning, since it will help in their development, as well as, in their future when seeking for a job. Considering that children are in constant learning, their abilities can be improved when allied to a sufficient amount of information. If learning skills were given the proper attention and taught at school, the advancements regarding the children ’s development would be noticeable. Statistics have shown that children that learn how to ride a bike or play an instrument are able to develop twice more motor ability when compared with a child that was not exposed to such skill. Secondly, it is when we are children and young that we learned some abilities which are carried over until adulthood, for example, how to ride a bike, how to build things. This learning process can be used to promote other abilities that together with theory learning, might keep the children motivated, as well as support a future profession. In fact, some European countries have incorporated cooking and woodwork classes to schools’ curriculum. In addition, many of these students argue that they like to cook and they are training to participate in cooking shows. To summarize, theory and practical leaning are the two bases of any knowledge, however, I firmly believe that depending on the time of the learning process, they should be of different weights, in order to promote better development of the children, in the same way, to increase the chances of a good future.