Nowadays people are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Contemporary society has produced an enormous amount of waste and governments all over the world are trying to tackle this problem before it brings irreversible damage to our environment. With the inevitable rise in population and industrialisation, this situation may be further aggravated. In this context, it is crucial to understand what the causes of this problem are and solutions which should be implemented to deal with this matter. Firstly, one of the main reasons for this problem is the use of disposable packaging. Convenience is very important in modern life, so we buy packaged or canned food which can be transported from long distances and stored until we need it. Unfortunately, this kind of waste is not usually recycled and end up accumulated in dumps. From my point of view, governments should impose a higher tax on products which demand too much packaging, to discourage its consumption. Secondly, in my view, the amount of waste produced is also a result of consumerism. We are often motivated to buy goods we do not need because there is too much advertisement on TV and on-street billboards. When we realize we do not know what to do with the products we buy impulsively, we end up throwing them away. Governments should control the amount of advertisement being displayed to TV viewers and ban billboards and other kinds of outdoor ads. Another cause of that problem is that we have a tendency to use something once and then throw it away. We forget that even the cheapest plastic bag has used up valuable resources and energy to produce. Governments need to raise awareness in the general public to the importance of reusing products as much as possible and make recycling campaigns. To conclude, with the political will, such measures could really reduce the amount of rubbish we produce. Certainly, nobody wants to see our resources used up and our planet poisoned by waste.