Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this present world, sports celebrities are paid considerably bigger salaries than people with vital professions. The argument that this discrepancy in earnings is legitimate is both agreed and disagreed with by many. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasonable conclusion. Indeed, athletics professionals who earn a great deal of money are hard workers. Besides, people who reach the highest levels in sport must be uniquely talented. For example, it is rare to find someone with football skills of Messi or Ronaldo. However, even the most talented sports professionals must undergo many years of training to develop the skills and fitness required, which takes great commitment, dedication and passion. This is why it can be argued that these players deserve mega salaries that reflect their abilities and effort. Nevertheless, talent and hard work of a professional player does not contribute to society in a major way. Instead, there are people in other professions that are of greater importance. For example, high-profile experts such as surgeons make a great contribution to the community by treating sick and injured people, and this is what they do for decades to come, while sports career lasts for only about 15 years. Unfortunately, the salaries of people with essential skills are not determined by the proportion they contribute to society. Therefore, this makes it clear that favouring sportspeople over other important professionals in terms of earning is unfair. In conclusion, the two sides of the argument concerning sports stars getting tremendous payments have strong supports. Although an athlete’s way to success is full of sacrifice and hardship, I firmly believe that their immense earnings are unjustified and that people who give benefits to the society should get paid more than professional sports players.