In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is now a common phenomenon that private organizations instead of government are pursuing scientific research in various areas of interest. While some welcome this citing increased efficiency and economical approaches, others contend that such sensitive and potentially dangerous technology should not be in control of one single individual organization. To begin with, these individual organizations - unlike public ones- are often motivated by profit-making and thus a scientific breakthrough made by them will be followed by exploiting it for their money making goals. This will in turn make any new products highly expensive and almost inaccessible for the common population. For instance, if any pharmaceutical company produces medicine for cancer, it will charge a hefty price for this life-saving drug and many won't be able to afford it. Therefore, it is no surprise that many people suffer without such medicines. Moreover, there is also a possibility of weaponization of latest technology by such individual firms. Having invested a lot of time and resources in developing these machines, they are highly likely to sell them to the highest bidder. This can prove to be disastrous for national security as well as global peace and security. Or worse it can fall into the hands of any terrorist organizations. Thus, private firms can be highly unreliable and potentially unsafe places. Nonetheless, there are some benefits that the privatization of science brings. One of the major benefits is the ack of red-tapism. Unnecessary and time-consuming processes are seldom found in privately owned corporations. They optimize every functional area and deliver results swiftly. For instance, Privately owned labs can produce vaccines twice as faster as their government-owned counterparts. Similarly, the former achieves the target by using fewer resources than the latter. To conclude, there are logical arguments to both sides of the discussion. However, I believe that the demerits of technology being misused are too disastrous to be ignored and therefore far outweigh the benefits. If these inventions are misused, it will result in another global war.