It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

The latest technology has made life much easier as compared to ancient times by providing various electronic gadgets. Some people claim that the current generation has more free time rather than in the past decades. In my opinion, people have a more hectic schedule in the 21st century. Let me elaborate in detail with some relevant examples. To begin with, people used to do a lot of physical tasks rather than smart work in ancient times. For instance, the farmers were using different kinds of machines to cultivate harvest as compared to today's generation. In addition, there was no automatic machinery and it needed to operate manually. Moreover, it has been predicted in a 2007 survey that people were more healthy and strong as they were not lazy and was doing every task by themselves. Also, there was no internet for communication which made them write letters to their near and dear ones. Even there were not many options for entertainment such as TV, internet, video games and many more so they were utilizing their free time in work. On the other side, today's generation is also working hard for their necessities. It is worth considering that they are not doing a more physical task because they are equipped with various automatic machines. For example, recent research conducted in India showed that 57% of employees are working from home because they have better options like laptops, mobile phones, video conferencing. Moreover, nowadays people do more smart work which allows them to get good opportunities in different sectors. Also, the candidate is expected to have excellent interpersonal skills such as co-operate, communications skill in an interview which only comes with a smart job. Also, technology has provided people with different sources of entertainment so they like to spend time at their homes rather than going out for sports or to meet their friends. To put it in a nutshell, it is not fair to be considering that 21st-century people are idler because their duties have been changed over the times. Even life has become much more stressful and hectic whereas people were more happy and healthy in the past. It is true that there are various machines are available such washing machines, kitchen equipment which was replaced by labour before.