Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I earnestly believe that close-knit societies thrive on inclusive behaviour and neighbourhood stores enable that, whereas the multiplication of supermarket giants hamper the growth of small businesses and ultimately cause the demise of communities. Firstly, this essay will explore how big chain stores are underselling and thus making it impossible for smaller players to survive and secondly, I will enunciate my views on how local stores build & sustain neighbourhoods. For generations we have seen deep-pocketed players become market leaders in consumer businesses as they readily offer impossible reductions. Discounts attract customers and big departmental stores afford to sustain losses for a short period of time but sequentially come out as the winner in the larger scheme of things. We have all been witness to the emergence of departmental giants like Walmart, and how their ascent has led to the untimely downfall of several small businesses in nearby localities. These local shops cannot endure huge losses to run uninterrupted business and thus are forced to shut shop. On the other hand, we can observe that neighbourhood stores harbour and nurture communities as they are at the epicentre of several townships and residential areas. These stores do not just cater to needs but are an essential part of the resident’s routine. Most of the shopkeepers are either a part of the same local community or have been at the store counter for years interacting with the customers, conversely multinational chains completely lack this personal touch of shopping where your store attendant may even be privy to local gossip. These business-like supermarket chains will ultimately make communities more individualistic. I would like to summarize my essay by illustrating a universal fact that the ‘Winner takes it all’. This aggressive takeover of market share by these corporations is hampering community living and not just small business owners. I thus agree with the statement in its entirety.