Some people say that a person’s success is as a result of the way he has been brought up by his parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider that people's upbringing has changed a lot in the past years. There are many people who think it has a major influence upon a person's career, while others believe it has no effects on it. I tend to agree with the former statement for many reasons that I will present in this essay. One significant point for people’s career success is the background they have. An individual who has been studying in a well-known school or college will probably have more chances to get hired for competitive jobs than others who have not been attending good educational institutions. To illustrate this, in my current company the managers discard all the resumes from people who have studied in some universities without even inviting them for a first interview. Although in most of the time the students are accountable to choose where they will study after high school, their parents may also collaborate to that, whether by advising or by enrolling them to good schools since they were toddlers. Another important thing to be considered is the life conditions of successful workers. If a child is brought up by supporting parents and having all the basic needs, such as food on the table or water on the pipes, this kid will probably have more chances to reach higher career positions than those who are not inserted into that same conditions. To illustrate this, the majority of children in Brazil raised by only the father or the mother usually end up working in entry-level positions or low waged jobs. If these people could focus only on their studies and, for example, did not have to start working since they were still young, they would probably have much more chances to build successful careers. To sum up, although the way some parents bring up their children can have some drawbacks, it still has a major influence on their careers. Personally, I believe a quality upbringing outweighs almost every other factor that could contribute to one's success.