Doctors in many countries say that people do not do enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this trend? How can the situation be improved?

According to doctors all over the world, the population is lacking physical activity. From my perspective, the root cause of this worrying tendency is the popularity of computers and the internet, and to tackle this issue, the governments should educate people about the ramifications of a sedentary lifestyle. These days, due to an easy availability of computers and the internet, people are opting for passive entertainment in front of the screen, rather than for doing any kind of sport. Not only are individuals enthralled with playing computer games or watching films on the internet, but they also prefer to stay indoors, interacting with their friends online, instead of going out for a walk together. To illustrate, when my parents did not possess a computer, they used to spend more quality time with each other. Unfortunately, now they have become reluctant to do this as they enjoy surfing the internet and watching new releases, which is less energy-consuming. To mitigate this problem, the governments should step in, utilising the powerful mechanisms they have at their disposal to disseminate the information about the dire consequences of a passive lifestyle. In particular, if there were more TV and radio programmes about the dangers of obesity-related diseases, such as the risk of developing diabetes or having a stroke, more people would do exercise on a regular basis. For example, I took up doing yoga regularly after I saw a news programme, saying that even middle-aged individuals are at high risk of getting heart disease if they do not exercise at least 3 times a week. In conclusion, modern technology tempts people to spend more time indoors, resulting in them being less physically active. The authorities can rectify this issue by launching public awareness campaigns to encourage people to reduce their screen time and instead do more exercise.