In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, customers have many choices to shop and they tend to choose leading brands to buy from. This trend leads to a fact that numerous small local businesses have to close as they cannot keep up with the competition. This may bring both negative and positive outcomes but the gains may overcome the losses. It is argued that large firms may manipulate prices to control the marketplace. For example, these companies can reduce their price tags to attract more people in order to eliminate their competitors. However, when they become dominant, they may increase prices to gain more profits. In fact, they usually have strong financial and willing to invest a significant amount of money in order to gain customers' trust and loyalty. Therefore, local shops, with limited budgets, may not be able to keep up with those brands. However, buyers will often be beneficial from competitions between these companies. It is clear that even well-known brands have strong competitors and they usually need to improve their services to keep customers. Local companies, for instance, are often in the market for a long time and may have many loyal customers in their areas. Competing with large brands may be an opportunity for them to improve their services, thus bring more values to their customers. Therefore, competitions may be a win-win for both customers and shops as consumers receive better products and services and shops gain more loyal customers. To conclude, competitions between small local shops and large shopping centres may have both benefits and disadvantages. However, it is clear that customers will be beneficial from it as they receive improved products and services.