Some people believe that it is important for young children to go to school as soon as possible. Others, however, believe that children should be allowed to stay at home and play until they are six or seven years old.

There has been a colossal upsurge in prodigies discussing the topic of appropriate school -going age for children. While many people believe that toddlers should start school as early as possible, others think that they should stay home until they turn six or seven. I, wholeheartedly, agree with the latter view. The main reason most parents want their infants to join the school is to learn the fundamental things early. Undoubtedly, this is the age when a child's cognitive development occurs at a full pace, and schools are expected to provide them ample opportunities to learn and grab new things as compared to home. In schools, they will not only learn important subjects like "Mathematics" or "English" but also other behaviours and ethical aspects which will help in shaping their future. On the flip side, children till the age of six or seven should spend time with their parents at home as they learn what they see, play with, or observe. In other words, they cannot distinguish between good and bad habits and can be misguided easily at school by peers. In addition to this, pressure in schools may restrict their ability to play freely and learn from their surroundings. Schools are often accused of restricting freedom and following strict rules, which is not a positive way of teaching young children. A recent survey in Washington has revealed that many schools education policy puts too much emphasis on formal learning and robs children of their creative abilities. To recapitulate, despite some benefits of starting school early, I think infants should not be sent to school until the age of six or seven to protect them from learning bad habits and provide them more independence to cherish their childhood and learn naturally.