Climate change is a big environmental problem that has become critical in last couple of decades. Some people claim that humans should stop burning fossil fuels and use only alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others say that oil, gas and coal are essential for many industries, and not using them will lead to economic collapse. What is your opinion?

All across the world, people are facing a wealth of new and challenging environmental problems every day. Climate change is one of such kind of crucial problem, the importance of taking urgent measures to solve it can not be emphasized too much. Some believe that an absolute ban on fossil fuels and using alternative sources of energy could be a solution to the climate problem. However, this point of view is refuted by those, who argue that fossil fuel is significant for industries, and dispensing with them will cause a negative impact on the economy. I fully agree with the latter opinion. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possibility of using alternative energy sources, and secondly, we will analyze the still crucial role of fossil fuel for the economy. On the one hand, opponents of using gas, oil and coal as fuel believe that combustion of them contributes to an increase in temperature of the atmosphere and a rise in global warming. And one of the eco-friendly and prudently alternatives is using the sun, water, and wind energy. On no account should the importance of renewable sources of energy be ignored, but it also should take into account the costs for their implementation into industries. Despite gradually decreasing prices for installing and maintaining these sources in recent years, the costs of implementation of renewable energy sources are still high and will affect on final price of the product. For example, according to the latest researches, the transition to wind and sun energy in the energy industry enterprises will increase electricity tariffs by 25%. On the other hand, proponents of using fossil fuels base their opinion on the assumption that wide use of it can not be finished at once, and I agree with them. The reason for this is that 75% of industry enterprises still use nonrenewable, and their shift to alternative energy should be gradually organized. It can be arranged by investing money in the modernization of plants and industries. As a consequence, the phased implementation of eco-friendly types of energy will not collapse the economy and lead to a crisis. In conclusion, though people may vary in their opinions about various energy sources, I firmly convinced that stop consuming fossil fuels in the nearest future does not seem possible. But it is high time the authorities take the first steps in resolving environmental problems, including climate changes, throughout transferring industry to ecological and clean sources of energy.