In the past people used to live their entire life in one place. Nowadays they live in several different places during their life. What are the reasons for this change? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

As opposed to people in the past, nowadays, people prefer to have a nomadic lifestyle, wherein, they want to move around different places, rather than spending their entire life in their home-town. This could be either in their national boundaries or even overseas. There could be a number of reasons for this, and this essay will mention some of the most common underlying causes, behind this changing trend, which could be attributed to either work or leisure. I see this as a positive trend, as with experiencing different places in one's lifetime, people broaden their arena, and have the choice to adapt to the culture, custom and the place, which befits them the most. With the advent of globalization, availability of modern technologies and means of transport and communication, we now live in a global village, where travelling from one part of the world to another, is quite fast, convenient and seamless. Organizations and Multi-national companies have offices around the globe and workforce are supposed to travel for work frequently, and sometimes, even for longer periods, due to which they get to experience international cultures, trends and comfortability of lives, and in this process, they choose to permanently settle and immigrate to another country, which makes them feel home, better than their own home-town, due to abundance of modern-day facilities and friendly culture, they discover there, which they always have been longing for. It was not the scenario a few decades back due to lack of transportation and hardly any need for relocation. Secondly, due to human cravings for experiencing new cultures, new environments and even new neighbourhoods, and to get away from the boredom of staying at a single location lifelong, where it may get monotonous, it is a good idea to switch on to another place, which makes living more exciting and brings the thrill of discovering the new place, all from the scratch. Some people would want to move from one city to another city in their own country and experience the varying climates, festivals and local languages which makes their life quite interesting. For example, In my country its quite common for people to travel from south in summers, to the northern part of India, and spend almost half a year, annually, as it is very hot and humid in summers, in the South, while it is still cold and breezy in the North. To summarise, there are no negatives in people willing to travel to multiple places for work or leisure or for any other reasons, as it brings spontaneity to their life. People travel for work or for leisure and it is a win-win for individuals as well as for the nation, as it boosts the economy. This is definitely a positive trend as it fosters cultural mingling, as well.