Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Hollywood blockbusters are successful, big-budget productions, but it is possible to make good movies on a shoestring budget and they can be profitable as well. I believe the most successful films have certain elements in common. Firstly, for a film to be a commercial success, it needs to engage the audience; in other words, it has to connect with their fears, aspirations or beliefs in some way. Secondly, the storyline should involve a conflict or search entailing a certain amount of risk for the central character and it needs to move forward with the idea of eventual triumph or escape from danger. In general, the protagonist must be either an exceptional person or an ordinary person in unusual circumstances. Think of Forrest Gump, for instance. If famous actors take the key roles, fans will watch the movie just to see them in action; however, the cinematography is important, too, and with today’s technology, amazing imagery is possible. With aggressive advertising and extensive publicity, especially an award or an Oscar nomination, the film is sure to be a hit. Nevertheless, even if all the above criteria are fulfilled, there is no absolute guarantee of success. Movies made with minimal financial backing can be both critically and commercially successful, for example, The Blair Witch Project. Because there are fewer high-cost special effects to distract the audience, an intriguing story and well-written characters are essential. A limited number of characters and settings keep costs down, but the script really does need to be thrilling. In fact, the most successful genre for micro-budget films is horror or horror-thriller. Star-power is not necessary in this case because people come to be scared and thrilled rather than to watch a celebrity. Expensive camera equipment is not crucial but good sound and production design – sourcing good quality props and materials and a good location – are very important. In summary, independent filmmakers can make low-cost but critically acclaimed films if the plot and characterization are exceptional. Nevertheless, major film studios often rely on star power and special effects to achieve commercial success and this recipe has more often than not led to acclaim within the industry and financial rewards.