Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are fully exposed to advertisements for various types of products in this digital era. While some people argue that advertising stops people became assimilated, I would not fully agree with such an opinion. On the one hand, advertisements help people to get acknowledge the brand which is not as famous as the market leader but providing more customized services. This encourages customers to freely buy what they want according to their interests, which makes it extremely difficult for one particular company to reform and manipulate the fashion trend. For example, if you would like to buy a can of soda, you have more alternatives than Coca-cola and Pepsi, which strengthens the sense of personality for the buyers. To sum, advertising plays a unique role in preventing people from buying the same products. On the other hand, this is a potential effect of advertising on people to buy the same things in some areas, especially electronic devices. For example, the iPhone, thanks to the strong publicity of Apple, is no doubt the most people would buy comparing other brands of mobile phones. Such companies which maintain the domains within the business is more likely to make people chase for their latest products. What’s more, their customers could also become an essential part of their advertising machine, turning more people buying the same things. It can be seen that people are losing their opportunities being different people due to the advertisements. In conclusion, I do believe advertising has some power to discourage people maintain their personalities.