Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment has served as a common practice worldwide at least for centuries. In recent years, whether or not it is a rewarding approach is heatedly debated, with opponents calling for education as well as vocational training. While I will analyse their rationale, I disapprove of eliminating incarceration. Locking up criminals in prison protects the public from recidivism. Research indicates a high rate of recommitting crimes as for culprits, even if some of them have received severe punishment. Without imprisonment, criminals who resent society would get the chance to revenge by arson or other cruel conducts. Furthermore, the idea of evil people living together with other residents is likely to frighten them and put them under anxiety. It seems impossible for citizens to feel secure when thinking about the possibility of recidivism. To send guilty persons into jail is also a powerful deterrence. Consequently, as for potential criminals and repeat offenders, they may think twice before taking actions. The fear of spending a lifetime in a cold cramped room will prevent some vicious individuals from violating the laws. Imprisonment represents the sanctity of the laws, warning everyone of going astray. Admittedly, it is widely acknowledged that education cultivates morality and virtue, nurturing law-abiding citizens. In terms of programmes related to vocational skills, it is true that they are beneficial for rehabilitation to help criminals readapt to society. However, these are only eligible to serve as preventative measures and follow-up actions. Neither of them has the ability to reduce the clime rate as effectively as imprisonment. To sum up, restricting culprits’ freedom ensures a safer living environment and deters future villains. Education, together with career development, should be provided as an assistance to prevent misdemeanours and to rehabilitate criminals. Imprisonment is still a major way to punish guilty folks.