Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is considered by some language professionals that children should be allowed to study a new language at junior school instead of a high school. Learning an unknown language is not that simple and it makes really easy when you are young, however, pupils may confuse with their mother tongue and may lead to mix speech. While acknowledging that there are drawbacks that this essay will argue that the benefits of studying an overseas language at the primary school outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, it should be noted that learning an accent which is other than a mother tongue is a difficult thing to do. However, if this is thought at the schools, especially at the basic level, turn students to speak like a native speaker. Likewise, it helps them to easily remember and recall a range of vocabularies and become familiar with the grammatical structure. For instance, French grammar has gender for things. It would be extremely complicated to learn a new language with other additional subjects at the high schools. On the other hand, a child learning whose mother tongue since birth, listening, watching and speaking in the same language for a considerable period may become confused when a new language is introduced. This,in turn,leads to a confused state and use both languages when communicating. It can impact studying other subjects and they may face other social issues. One good example is that in England, immigrants’ children use words from both their mother dialect and English to convey a message. In conclusion, though there are disadvantages of feeding a foreign language to children at primary school it benefits them to be proficient which outweigh the disadvantages.