Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some specialists that children should start learning a foreign at primary schools rather than secondary schools. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of acquiring a new language are eclipsed by its benefits. Firstly, this essay will demonstrate how kids are benefited by learning a new language at the early stage of their study life; followed an analysis of how the primary disadvantages, namely the negative impact on the brain of a child is not valid. Despite the drawback bellow, this essay believes that the advantages gained from learning a foreign language from the primary level are extremely useful. One major upside is that children can learn a new language easily. This is because at the early stage of life our memorization capability remains very good. As a result, kids can learn and memorize anything without giving more effort. For example, an empirical study by Cambridge University in 2009 found that 95% of the UK students, who learned the French language in their primary school, were able to use that language in their job filed, But students, who learned French at the secondary or college level, could not apply it appropriately in every aspect of life. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when children learn a new language at their primary schools. The plausible demerit is that it can have detrimental effects on the mental health of children. The reason is that children are so naïve at the primary level and it is too difficult for them to learn so many things at a time, As a consequence, too much study pressure can hamper their brain. However, this will be a rare case because study curriculum is always made by analyzing the tolerance level of a child. This is illustrated by the fact that in the English medium schools, a primary student can study easily 10 to 12 subjects with a new language course every year because Oxford or Cambridge makes the syllabus by judging every side of a child. In conclusion, the disadvantages of learning a foreign language at primary school are overshadowed by its advantages occurring from easy learning. Thus having weighed up pros and cons, it can be said that children should begin learning a foreign language at primary schools.