Shopping is becoming more an more popular as leisure activity. However, some people that this has both positive and negative effects. Why shopping is so pupular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and society?

Although consumerism is increasing in popularity, some defend this lifestyle while others believe it can be detrimental. This essay will examine why shopping is popular and what are the results of this attitude. Firstly, individuals tend to shop due to their pleasure. Generally,those who go to specific places to shopping as malls, galleries and so on feel more satisfied in comparison to other activities such as playing sports. Another reason is that people intend that it is highly convenient to purchase goods. Nowadays, it is pretty common that people use shopping as therapy when they feel nervous or anxious, which lead them to purchase items that sometimes are unnecessaries. However, the attitude of buying something led them to relief these people and somehow turning it into a useful way out. Therefore, both ideas above are prone to increase in shopping behaviour among people. On the other hand, this behaviour of high consumerism also brings about some results that can benefit both society and individuals. The shopping attitude generally rises the economy of a country, city, or even a township. This happens to owe to the fact that were places that had their market increased at an alarming rate also provides more money and investments for that local. For example, people usually use their cars to go shopping which needs gas, thereby they will need to fork out at a gas station. More than that, there is also the creation of jobs available. The more people buy goods the more staffs will be necessary to attend them. For example, store chains which receive hundreds of consumers probably will need to employ a multitude of people for that region. In conclusion, the rising consumerism aforementioned has some reasons to be since it is completely connected with the contemporary world. Furthermore, it is almost a truism to say that consumerism helps individuals by creating jobs and society by helping the economy.