Some people are of the opinion that being highly qualified is the only way to ensure a well-paying job. While others believe that having work experience is the best way to get a well-paying job. Discuss both views and give your opinion

At some point in life, everybody has to struggle for entering the job market. Although few people advocate that a university degree is not necessary for high-wage jobs, I believe that it depends on the type of work one is aspiring for. This essay will examine both sides of the argument which will help the readers to decide accordingly. On the one hand, for some jobs like engineers, doctors, lawyers, it is compulsory to have a college degree, along with, years of education in the particular field which is better reflected in the job advertisements. To elaborate, no work experience can replace a qualification for these kinds of jobs which requires a highly skilled employee. For example, a nurse can never become a doctor even if she is working in a hospital for decades because it requires a person to attend the university for gaining knowledge and practise. Therefore, it is absolutely required to have at least a graduation for getting employment in some prestigious fields. On the other hand, there are many jobs that do not require the tertiary education certificate and prefers work experience over the grades. To further explain, these jobs look for the skill of handling the business unit and a person should know inside-out of that field. For instance, when I was working as an accountant in a warehouse near my home, our managers were not having any university degrees and still, they were on the high designations getting handsome salaries. In conclusion, while there are few jobs that a person can apply only after acquiring a relevant academic certification, other jobs are there which asks for experience. Hence, the chances of getting a high-paid job vary as per the requirements.