Some people think that planning for future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the fast-changing and unpredictable world, either having foresight or enjoying present moments has been receiving more public arguments. While future orientation is vital to people’s achievements, I hold a belief that living for the moment plays an equally pivotal role in their happiness and success. On the one hand, I am also convinced that having foresight would be more crucial to people’s development and success. Others think planning is wasteful because external factors and bad luck can lead to unexpected situations and stumbling blocks, preventing us from realizing our goals and targets. However, without grounds for prospective plans, people aren’t able to anticipate potential risks and opportunities, and foresee possible obstacles, depriving of increasing chances of success in the future. What’s more, having routes to achieve goals such as career advancement and academic pursuits could allow people to keep track instead of being distracted in their journeys. Therefore, people can gain a sense of adaptability and enhance their problem-solving skills from valuable experiences and meaningful lessons if they face challenges and failures. On the other hand, I believe that spontaneity could bring positive implications for our mental wellbeing and life fulfilment to some extent. No one could deny that if some people always worry about the future, they are likely to face constant depression, preventing them from carrying out their plans and losing sight of the simpler joys in life. As a result, those who tend to overthink and plan too carefully are unlikely to achieve a sense of satisfaction and have their mental wellbeing affected in the long run. What’s more, living for the moments are likely to be an effective method for people to handle daily problems with a positive attitude, which can prevent them from overthinking and comparing with others. Such a practice can allow them to find a peaceful mind and treasure present moments, which is vital to their happiness. In conclusion, I believe that making ultimate plans and cherishing the moment is of paramount essential to gain a sense of fulfilment and accomplishment in the long term.