Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today claim that learning literature in high school is a waste of time. In my opinion, even though there is some practicality in the argument but literature still serves a purpose. On one hand, the proponents of this argument state that other subjects should be prioritized. In other words, schools should give more attention and focus on other subjects like science, mathematics or commerce. Since the student’s career choice completely depends on this. Majority of the students will pursue higher studies in order to become doctors, engineers or business people and thus, they will forget the literature which they learned at high school. Therefore, the effort of teaching literature to high school students is futile. On the other hand, nonetheless, literature is also equally mandatory. In other words,not only career choices and their related subjects but literature too is irreplaceable. Since, most of the literary works contain beneficial, as well as fundamental life lessons which help’s people to lead a quality life. For example authors like, Leo Tolstoy mainly focuses on philosophical and psychological issues which are applicable to each and every individual’s life. Moreover, literature helps us to learn the language in-depth making the communication, using it easier. In conclusion, admittedly other career-oriented subjects are important but literature still holds a high position in the academics. As not only it teaches other fundamental life lessons in a creative manner but also assists to master the language. Thus, high school students must be encouraged to learn literature and schools should make it interesting too.