Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Reading a book requires one's full concentration in order to process what's written, whether be it a comic or thriller, unlike while watching a film or television. Whilst scanning the text in a book, your mind is also imagining what the writer is trying to communicate. I agree that a person's mind is active whilst reading. In this essay, I will discuss my viewpoint. Reading to the mind is what exercise is to the body! It is a brain-stimulating activity. Our mind creates images while we read. The activity that leads to reading also requires effort, one must decide on the genre, plan how to get access to it and then indulge in the activity. Using imagination is a key aspect of reading because the writer only describes situations and characters with words and the reader has to imagine every scene in the mind. On the contrary, no effort is required by the mind whilst watching a serial. The content is pre-curated, the scenes are well laid out, it doesn't require any thought. That is why people prefer unwinding by indulging in a TV series because you don't have to bring your mind to the table. One can leave it behind. To support the statement, a poll revealed that the audience preferred reading the Harry Potter series rather than watching the films because the books gave the reader to visualise their own version of the plot. In conclusion, I would like to agree with the above statement that reading books stimulates the mind.