In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many city planners are in favour of modularization management which relocates all the shops, schools, offices, and residents house in different areas. In my opinion, the benefits of this arrangement cannot overshadow the drawbacks since cities are places with providing essential amenities to support the citizens. Firstly, arranging cities by modularization management mode is merely inconvenient for the people. From my perspective, it goes against the natural development of human societies where we all live together to support each other. If we locate shops, schools, offices and residences areas separately, people will have limited access to shop centres which lead to the consequences that medium and small shops cannot survive. In other words, people living in the communities with well-distributed supporting buildings, mean that it can fulfil with their basic needs in a single area, which is more convenient and higher efficient. Secondly, separating residential complexes with shops, schools, and offices can increase the demands in commuting, which will lead to environmental pollution. More precisely, rather than travelling in one area for work and study, all residents have to use public or private vehicles to commute to a different area which means that they use more petrol than usual. It would not be a big problem if there are only five to ten people travel like this a day. However, what we are alarming about is the whole city with everyone uses that much petrol to commute at least five days a week. As a result, air pollution, as well as noise pollution, will be uncontrollable. In conclusion, although centralized management method may have a positive side, I oppose to this ideas as the drawbacks are far more severe than the benefits. I believe that cities should be the place where citizens can access to all essential services, and the city planners must consider reducing traffic flows to meet the environment-friendly criteria.