In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

There is a widespread opinion that modern electronic gadgets and the Internet will change the way people read newspapers and books and encourage them to get rid of paper materials in favour of electronic ones. I partly agree with this statement and, in my opinion, electronic materials will successfully replace paper ones in the foreseeable future, but with the growing meaning of patent law and authorship rights on the Internet there will be fewer newspapers and books available without a fee. To begin with, creation of paper materials require a lot of resources while electronic ones can be just distributed the Internet. As a result, publishing houses are interested in sales of electronic books because with comparatively low costs of sales it provides a higher margin. Moreover, as ecological concerns are growing, people are refusing from paper materials in favour of electronic ones. Thus, many respectful publishing houses have already stopped the distribution of hard copies and paper newspapers in order to support environmental mainstream movements and increase their sustainability scores in the potential customers' eyes. Secondly, from the readers' perspective, electronic books compared to paper ones are noticeably more convenient and cost-efficient. For example, those modern devices can store an indefinite number of books regardless of their size and it makes electronic books and newspapers suitable to use in any circumstances no matter how enormous the favourite novel is. Moreover, while ordinary paper materials wear out, electronic ones do not have a material form and can serve as long as an electronic device is in working condition. Despite the fact that online contents are going to increase, it does not unequivocally mean that this content will be distributed free of charge. For instance, the publishing industry has already been working with online materials for a few years and it has dramatically transformed its methods of forcing with illegal content on the Internet and there is even today fewer books, magazines, and newspapers that are available for free. In conclusion, it is apparent that paper books and newspapers will be inevitably replaced by electronic materials due to many advantages such as higher cost-efficiency, sustainability and faster distribution. Furthermore, I am convinced that with the growing number of electronic resources there will be fewer of them available for free.