Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantage?

In recent years differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. I strongly believe that the advantages of this trend don't outweigh the disadvantage for several reasons. Firstly, globalization and an open free market allowed big companies to operate in nearly every market in each country. Nowadays international companies own stores in the most important cities around the world, they tend to offer the same product worldwide with no regards with the country culture or tradition. This situation could be practical for customers in case of issues or problems with some famous branded objects. To cite an example, I was on a trip abroad and my laptop broke, even if I was in another country I was able to find a store and my laptop was replaced with no extra cost. Moreover,people could be used to that product and brands that even if they will relocate in the future, they will know the vast majority of stores and brands. On the other hands, this situation could lead to disadvantages such as losing the tradition and inner culture of that country. Moreover, artisans and local shop are affected by this new type of economy. Recent studies suggest that nearly 80% of people prefer to buy from a notous brand store rather than buy something from a local shop or an artisan. The reason behind this is that people feel more safe and protected from big groups rather than local shops or small business. For instance, I used to live near a small family run art stock that after more than 30 years of activity was forced to close because notice and recognized brand opened one of their stock nearby the art shop. To sum up, it would be advisable that both governments and huge business take severe measures in order to tackle this problem by creating rules that could allow to traditional and local stores to survive against the new globalized economy.