In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, all over the world, people, either for their reluctance to cook or for having rigid work-schedule, are dependent on the consumption of fast food. As it is a known fact that a substantial amount of sodium and preservatives are used in the preparation of fast food, hence, makes it unhealthy and thus, it exposes several risk factors to public health. For that reason, many people think that the junk food producers should be taxed higher as it could be utilised in public health service, whereas, others believe that charging high tax might not solve the issue. In my opinion, the government should tax this sort of food although there are some underlying counter-arguments involved with it. On the opposing side of the debate, there is a crucial assumption lies that if government raise the tax rate for fast food significantly, the food producers will charge higher to their customers. Moreover, customers would willingly pay the extra price as by living in a fast-paced world they might not have any other convenient alternative. For example, most of the international students residing in the USA on the purpose of completing graduation have to balance between their schedule of study and work. For that reason, it becomes difficult for them to prepare food on their own regularly. For which they become dependent on Mcdonald and KFC like food -chain. Due to adjustment of tax, if they have to pay more, this would be burdensome for them. Thus, the government should consider the intertwined issues before taking any decision. On the other hand, imposing high taxes might play a vital role as the fund could be used in the improvement of overall medical facilities. Moreover, spending the fund at that cause could be seen relevant too as fast food is the cause for a myriad of health disorder. For instance, Mcdonald was accused of widespread obesity in American society. Thus, it would be rational to raise this amount from the producer in the form of duty in case of any potential health emergency. To conclude, the authority should tax the fast- food chain to make it helpful for the people in medical need although issue regarding the scarcity of alternative should come into consideration.