People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that old buildings are not useful anymore, and they are in favour of demolishing them to build new ones instead. I disagree with that point of view because I see more value-added to the communities in keeping those buildings, than in replacing them. In this essay, I will explain in more details that old buildings are valuable. Firstly, old buildings hold an important commercial value. That is because they are an attraction sell points for tourism. For example, some tourist companies plan various length tours for architecture lovers around the old neighbourhoods in different cities. Furthermore, there is another type of popular tour that has interests especially in old celebrities' lives, where fans visit the houses they lived in. Needless to say, if the old buildings get knocked down, cities will be deprived of a significant amount of tourism profits. Secondly, replacing old buildings with new ones may disrupt social harmony in society. To illustrate, each social segment has specific characteristics that may clash violently with other segments characteristics. A clear example of this is that new residential buildings are bigger; thus, hold more families than the old type of building. As a result, old residents find themselves surrounded by a new segment of tenants that they are not used to, which can create unnesseccary daily conflicts. Therefore, changing the dynamics among people in that shocking manners will lead to negative socio-economic behaviours. To conclude, although some prefer taking down old buildings to give way to new ones, I disagree with them. I believe that old buildings benefit society economically by generating money, and socially by preserving the current social norms.