The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Oil and gas usage is increasing globally. Current sources are limited, thus many rural areas could be the solution for the crisis. While some agree that searching for some new places should be encouraged, it could also be harmful to our nature. Though there are arguments, I reckon that the negative attributes may not be overlooked by the positive ones. This essay will discuss the views. To begin with, there are some benefits to exploit fuel from urban places to meet our rising demand. Firstly, industries are growing day by day, as a result, it needs more energy sources. A limited number of sources may not provide this amount of power. For example, if some more places could be found with petroleum, it may provide enough amount for our growing needs. Secondly, it could be a good economic source for an undeveloped area if they get fuel. African nations, for instance, may come forward to take a chance to research for it and could arrange a great deal. A progressive world helps us to move forward to a better future. Therefore, people are looking for more places as a source of this power. On the contrary, some drawbacks may make it worse. The first is, deforestation, which could be occurred by a huge amount of tree cutting to build a petroleum company. In other words, a place in India has been demolished by people to make it suitable for the extraction of oil. The second is hampering nature and quality of the place. An urban area has its own beauty and one should not hamper that. For example, an area in Dubai has been completely destroyed by nature for excessive exploitation. Humans do not bother to completely destroy our mother earth just for personal gain. Moreover, many places could be harmed and lose their own essence. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both merits and demerits of finding new places for energy extraction. Although it is necessary to advance our world, I radically agree that we should not bother more rural places in order to get more fuel. Hence, It is our duty to preserve our planet and reconsider the consequences.