New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Technology has impacted the lifestyle of people. Children play video games on television in their leisure time whilst in the past decade, they used to play in playgrounds. Children become focused and mentally strong; nevertheless, they are becoming fat and physically unfit. On the one side, online games help children to boost their concentration power. Their cognitive skills groom with these. If they sit for hours to play games, their sitting habits to study build. Further, in certain games, educational knowledge is transferred. For instance, scrabble is the game in which words are built. These games help to build and improve vocabulary. Leisure time is utilised in an appropriate manner with the use of technology. Hence, technology helps children to strengthen their mental abilities and gain knowledge. On the other side, children are becoming dull and unhealthy with this. Firstly, children sit for long hours and eat unhealthily. They do not go outside and play outdoor games. This is resulting in obesity which is causing detrimental diseases. Secondly, they prefer not to interact with others. They just sit in their rooms and play online games or use social media. They do not communicate and avoid meetings. For instance, a recent study state that ninety per cent of the youth population avoid going out. Therefore, young people are becoming unfit and less active with new technology. In conclusion, technology has changed the way of passing free time. This has caused better concentration and performance in children; nevertheless, repercussions like physical unfitness and obesity are faced due to this.