Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful to children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Online games are prevalent for all generations and societies however parents argue that the academic benefit is limited and will have negative consequences for children. I partially disagree because although games are age-related, they can expose children to harmful sites. This essay will illustrate how the younger generation can benefit educationally from games and how the popularity of games maybe be harmful to them. Games appropriate for different generations are available including those that incorporate learning a subject, skill, or technique. As a result, children can be guided towards those that can enhance their academic work and this results in gaining relevant knowledge through the game. To instantiate, recent studies by the University of Pretoria’s Early Childhood development department showed that the cognitive ability of early learners exposed to computer games is 20% higher compared to those without them. Therefore, the popularity of computer games is being beneficial to the academic studies of youngsters. Despite the benefits, constant exposure to computers as children access games can be harmful to them. The games may be prone to hackers who can steal the child’s personal information and subsequently abuse the child. Criminals now frequent gaming platforms and may even create games to target youngsters since games are so prevalent. For example, in Gauteng, 30% of the Grade 7 learners in the northern suburbs reported being stalked by criminals because they had provided their information on a gaming platform. Evidently, despite the games being of academic value, they may expose children to harmful criminals. In conclusion, electronic games may valuable to educational development since they can be based on a particular subject or but continuous exposure to computers poses a threat to children. Therefore, I partially agree with the parents’ view that the popularity of games provides limited educational value and is harmful to children.