Art and music are considered some of the fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music at school?

Art and music have always been admired by many people in the entire world. This entertainment tool has been used worldwide as a form of relaxation, as well as a form of treatment for some health conditions. Some people may think that with the technology era that we are living nowadays, artists and musicians will have no place. However, I strongly agree that these two elements are essential in all societies, even for children that should be learning them at school. In this essay, the explanation for this idea will be provided. Firstly, art and music are considered important material for the remedy of some medical conditions. For example, the elderly suffering from dementia has shown a significant improvement in cognition skills after being exposed to musical therapy. In addition, people presenting severe anxiety and depression have also shown better response to their therapy after using this type of therapy. Because listening to songs stimulate the brain to produce substances like endorphin, these psychiatric diseases tend to be less severe when this treatment is implemented. So, these elements are key to improve the treatment results on this population. Secondly, it is already known by studies that have been done, that children who are exposed to melody lessons have a better outcome in the future. For instance, kids that learned to play an instrument developed different skills, like cognitive, concentration and critical thinking, faster than kids who didn't have this experience. Furthermore, musical healing has been shown to be an excellent tool for relaxation in children with diseases like anxiety and hyperactivity disorder. In conclusion, in my opinion, art and melody will always have a place in people's lives, as well as for those with health issues. And modern technology can even help to disseminate this thought, by facilitating the access to these tools. So, parents, caregivers and healthcare providers should engage the society to listen and admire these two elements.