People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution that causes health problems for many. Explain possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Air pollution is one of the most serious concerns in metropolitan cities. The degrading air quality brings with it a lot of health problems for the residents. There are a number of contributing factors and various probable solutions to lessen the impact of air pollution. Firstly, the advancement of technology has helped bring the cost of manufacturing vehicles down thereby making it easier for the masses to purchase a private car. This increasing number of personal vehicles is causing an increase in air pollution levels. Secondly, the prices of non-renewable fuels like petrol and diesel which are used by most private cars are also decreasing day by day which gives car owners another reason to travel more by their own vehicle. The third problem comes from the lack of adoption of modern farming methods. Farmers using the traditional ways of growing crops burn the stubble once the harvest season is over which introduces a lot of pollutants into the surrounding air. All the causes of air Quality index deterioration have a solution which could help minimise their impact on the health of the people. The government could play a major role in helping these solutions by introducing policies which penalises the owners of private vehicles by imposing higher taxes on the purchase of cars and energy sources utilised by the same. The government should also work on improving the public transport infrastructure by making it more accessible and comfortable for the citizens. One such example is the Delhi Metro Service which provides air -conditioned economical rides between all important parts of the city. Air purifiers are another way of helping reduce the harmful chemicals from the surroundings. Many such machines could be installed in densely populated and busy places. To conclude, there are multiple solutions available to shorten the impact of air pollution on the health of people, however,that would require intervention from the parties in power to bring in policies and making it mandatory for the public to follow.