In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. To what extent do you agree ?

In the 21st century, the reasons to get married has changed especially for women. Few intellects believe that this is because women are able to earn to support them, while some argue. I affirm that this is true, by making earning women are able to avoid marriage. In this essay, independence and self-control of women’s lives will be discussed to support my stance. To commence with, the main reason for this paradigm shift is because earlier the society was male-dominated and women’s financial independence was in their partner’s hand. Now, as women started having decent income then the need for dependency for finances has countered. For instance, in recent years, women who are earning their own bread and butter have no urge to marry someone as they are financially stable. Therefore, as women started earning their needs are fulfilled, there is no urge of getting married for the sake of finances. Furthermore, another reason for this change is that women’s partner uses to control their choices. Evidently, in earlier times as men’s were the only earners in the household, so the control over options was in their hand however the situation has changed. Because women started to earn, they have the liberty to choose. For illustration, women who work enjoy the freedom of choosing their attire as compared to the one who does not as they have to consult their partners. Thus, earning women do not like to get married because they might lose their authority over choices. In summary, in my opinion, women do not seek to get married because they can earn financial stability which was earlier promised in tying a knot only. Additionally, independence and control over life are exercised because they are earning their own bread and butter.