Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

By and large, the number of students enrolled in a course related to scientific fields in university has declined in most parts of the world. This essay will explore the reasons why science subjects have become less popular among undergraduates and the negative impact of this problem on society. It is commonly acknowledged that scientific studies are considerably more complexed and difficult than any other subjects which need years of extensive study to obtain a degree. For instance, in order to become a qualified doctor, students have to complete a 6-year medical program which requires a great deal of effort and patience. Additionally, it is commonly believed that only intelligent and capable students could accomplish studies in this field. For this reason, many students are inevitably discouraged from taking science courses. As a consequence of fewer students enrolled in science classes, there will be a shortage of professionals in scientific fields such as healthcare workers. One important issue is that the imbalance of doctor to patient ratio. For example, providing that there is only one doctor taking responsibility to take care of a hundred patients per day, the treatment quality and outcomes will be below an acceptable standard. Consequently, this unavoidably has a detrimental effect on people’s health. In conclusion, there are fewer and fewer students take scientific courses these days. This is because science is far more complicated and difficult than any other subjects. And as a result, this problem leads to a shortage of healthcare workers and has a negative impact on people’s lives concerning health issues.