Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

Over the last decade, many people are unwilling to have children in the early years of their marriage. This essay will discuss some factors that contribute to this tendency and examine its consequences on society and family life. The main reason that couples decide not to have a baby is that they like to enjoy their life and postpone all the heavy responsibilities associated with being a parent later. They can travel more comfortably and explore more exciting places without a baby, for instance. The other reason is that most young couples are experiencing the early stages of their career, so they have lots of motivation to promote their job position. Having a child will probably limit their ambition for better job prospects. Take a salesperson, for example; travelling counts as an asset, whereas being a parent makes it difficult to have regular business trips. However, this tendency has some adverse effects on both families and societies. Firstly, having children later will cause a significant age gap between the two generations. This makes it harder for parents to understand and communicate with their children. Not only this, many scientific articles prove baby delivery at ages higher than forty may impose a severe mental and physical health risk on both parent and newborn. This might adversely affect the quality of the future workforce. To conclude, It is evident that there are several causes of disinterest in having children among young couples and some adverse effects. Society must make sure steps are taken to balance this situation; otherwise, serious problems will occur for both families and societies.