In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs, during the first month after birth of their baby. Does the disadvantages outweigh the advantages ?

In a number of nations, maternity leave is granted to working-class women within and after the first month of delivery. This notion has some pro's and con's which would be elaborated on. To begin with, it is highly essential for countries to permit postpartum mothers to take work leave as this is both advantageous to mums and children. Firstly, a mother is able to nurse and bond with the baby properly. This includes exclusive breastfeeding of infant, as breastmilk is highly nutritious to a child, thus enhancing growth and preventing diseases. Furthermore, neonate becomes fond of their mum and builds up a trust during this process which is necessary for development. Secondly, ladies who just delivered are able to get financial support from the institution where they work, as their salaries are not cut off despite the leave granted, as such they do not struggle financially. In essence, time off job's following birth is of great benefit to both neonate and women. On the other hand, despite the proponents aforementioned, working females may find it difficult to get up to speed at their task after 3 to 4 months off duties. Particularly, due to the fact that they may be distracted or stressed from baby duties. For instance, a sister of mine who resumed after her leave, had difficulty in juggling nursing a child and her occupational activities, as her mind often got preoccupied with her infant. For this reason, it may be necessary to help postpartum's with coping skills prior to the resumption of official duties. In conclusion, nations that grant mums time off work should be increasingly encouraged as the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. In addition, strategies to further enhance coping skills can be implemented to avert the cons.