Some people argue that technological innovations, such as mobile phone, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

Smartphones have greatly revolutionized the entire world. This has often spurred the argument that mobile phone has made humankind socially less interactive. I completely agree with this opinion and will also highlight my reasons for the same. Firstly, the use of smartphone usage has greatly increased due to the advent of social media. Online platforms like Facebook and Instagram can hookup people's interest in their content. Moreover, these social sites also track a person's online activities and can comprehend on what content, he or she is generally interested in, which often results in hooking up the user to their platform by using his or her smartphone more and more rather than chatting with his or her family or friends. For example, according to a research study, it was found that the usage of smartphones in schools and universities is exorbitantly high during the lecture hours, which provides a prime example of students preferring to use smartphones rather than paying attention to their lecturers. Secondly, smartphones are equipped with many other forms of entertainment like movies, tv-series and games to name a few. These also serve as another important factor for addiction, as all of these are in the best interest of the person. Hence, all the people, are always living in a virtual world, rather than in reality. For example, at earlier times people travelling in a long train journey used to interact with each to spend time, however nowadays they would rather spend that time watching movies or playing games than talking to strangers. To conclude, I strongly believe that smartphones are truly disrupting our social skills with their loaded activities in the form of social media contents and other forms of entertainment, which is completely preposterous, taking into account the fact that we humans are what we are because of our social skills and the way we interact with each other.