Some people think that people moving to a new country should accept the new culture in a foreign country. Others think that they should live as a separate minority group with different lifestyles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. This raises questions about whether these immigrants should culturally assimilate into their host country or should stick to their traditional lifestyle and live as a separate minority group. From my point of view, immigrants should embrace new customs while maintaining their old traditions. On the one hand, some argue that newcomers should adapt to the new culture of their adopted countries. First, they argue that adjustment to the new homeland is the key element to achieve success. To be more specific, by interacting and building good relationships with local residents, migrants can avoid unnecessary conflicts due to cultural differences. In addition, their willingness to adhere to the new culture will help them integrate into the new society more quickly than their reluctant counterparts, and they tend to have a better chance of success in finding work. Yet others claim that immigrants should preserve their own traditions and customs and live as a separate group. First and foremost, by sticking together, they will not have a sense of alienation. Evidently, when coming to a new country, some can find it challenging to deal with the culture shock or language barrier. Therefore, they tend to congregate in particular areas. Moreover, by living in close-knit communities, they can communicate in the mother tongue, and whenever they are in trouble, they can explain their problem to someone who can easily understand them. Last but not least, some older migrants are reluctant to blindly adopt a new culture and forget about their cultural identity. In conclusion, while adjusting to the customs and traditions of the new homeland is useful economically and socially, preserving one’s own national identity is more important for some migrants.