There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measure will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Although it is thought by some that a penalty as severe as death would deter frequent offenders from committing heinous crimes, others believe that there has to be an alternate solution to bring a change in their mindset. In my opinion, not only using a life sentence or a death penalty is a must, but also other measures have to be taken by the government to reduce the crime rate. On the one hand, a death sentence is considered one of the harshest punishment to deter offenders, according to some. In other words, it discourages or instils fear among other inmates or criminals, who have the tendency to re-offend. For instance, in the middle-east, a death sentence is carried out on the convicts immediately without multiple trials, for a sexual offence or for other crimes that are considered unpardonable. Furthermore, criminals receiving lengthy punishment would also mean the crime is wrong and would send a strong message to the public, especially to the ones who have a violent nature. On the other hand, it is often thought that a strict measure would be required to be put in place by the government, for the criminals to refrain from committing offences. While serving the sentence, the offenders could be put in training programmes which would train them in new skills. As a result, this would provide them with the required opportunity to find employment once their sentence is over, which would give them a sense of confidence and security. Moreover, they ought to be given rehabilitation programmes before re-entering society, as serving a lengthy sentence would mean they are used to prison life, cut-off from the outside world. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe it is best to have counselling sessions and to re-train offenders for anti-social behaviour, however, stringent measures have to be formed by the police and the state to bring down the crime rate.