obesity and sugar drinks, should people be educated or new taxes on sugary drinks implemented

People being overweight is a big problem in our society and it is mostly related to sugar consumption. One solution could be to put taxes on sugary drinks and other could be to educate the community about it. This essay will argue that educating the public is better in the long run and that consumers will still pay the extra money for sugary drinks. Education is the base to change people behaviours. People tend to realise that their habits are bad when others teach them about it. A study shows that when a group of people were educated on how sugary beverages contributed to obesity, 9 out of 10 stopped buying those. It proves that teaching people about these unhealthy drinks make them stop consuming them. On the other hand, tax on sugary drinks will not be made people stop buying it. People tend to pay any among of money for goods they like. For example, when taxes were put on alcohol people continue buying them. With this in mind, taxes would not stop people from drinking sugary drinks, it would just make people pay more for them. To conclude, sugary drinks are a big contributor to obesity and there are various ways to reduce the consumption of these drinks such as education and add taxes to them. However, education is far better to reduce people drinking sugary beverages.