Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed by some individuals that prisoners should be obligated to do unremunerated community work instead of being locked up in cells throughout their sentence. I totally agree with this opinion because people in jail shall be useful for society, not only a cost, and this is an opportunity for one to develop job skills. The main reason why I believe prisoners should be made to do community work without receiving money is that the best way for them to spend their enprisoned time, payback for their crimes, and compensate their costs is being useful for the society. Otherwise, they would be years behind bars only expending public savings. Another reason is that this is an opportunity for the prisoners to learn skills and get experience in professional activities. Even though they will not receive a salary, that will allow them to look for jobs with higher chances of success after their sentence is over. Therefore, the prisoners will be better reintegrated within the society and less likely will break any law again. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that the best manner for prisoners to pay their debts with society is doing unpaid community work since they will compensate the public money expended for their imprisonment and also will provide them better prospects after their release.