In order to be successful at a sport, some think you must be physically strong while others believe mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that in order to play any sport successfully some requirements are needed. While some people believe that physical strength is the most important factor, others argue that mental strength should be on the top of the list. In this essay, I will discuss both arguments and I will support with examples why I agree with both views. Firstly, it is clear that the vast majority of sports can not succeed without massive body training, where they exercise the full-frame until the limit. Moreover, some sports are almost one hundred per cent body resistance, and knowing your own carcass could lead you to the podium. For instance, athletism is about leg's force and you have just to follow the rule of keeping running until the end. If you did not resist because your body fails, you would not have any chance to win. As a result, even though your brain is working properly, your frame has given up. On the other hand, few sports tend to need more mental than physical activity, and you have to train your brain if you want to succeed. Furthermore, coordination is one of the principal requirement of some of them and you have to learn how to coordinate your movements. To illustrate, while you are managing to win a swimming race, you have to focus on the movements you are doing because one false step and you can lose. If you have a great body training but your brain is not concentrated on the race, you would not achieve a high score. Consequently, although your body is in great condition, your mental strength could be a serious impediment. To conclude, I accept that some people would prefer one condition to the other, but I firmly believe that they are equally important depending on the type of sport you are willing to do. Having looked at both sides, some times they are complementaries and a mix of both of them would be beneficial at any sport.