Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Issues related to transportation are discussed these days. It is argued that due to the limits of national budgets, some people think that both road and motorways should be invested rather than public transportation. I firmly disagree with this assertion. The explanation will be shown in this essay. The principal reason to consider is that public transport is a powerful tool for coping with urban problems; such as air pollution and overpopulation. Since nowadays many countries are facing the poor quality of air owing to vehicle exhaust gas. Hence, governments should enhance mass transport; such as SkyTrain, in order to encourage people in the city to use it instead of using private cars. For instance, over recent years, due to inefficient buses in Bangkok, most people opt to work by their cars, as a result,they have been facing unhealthy smog, since Another point is that thanks to the capacity of public transports; such as train, mass transports provide more several benefits than the private vehicle in terms of travelling, logistics service and economic progress. In other words, public transport has a positive impact on the development of a nation. A good case in this point is that extending the route for accessing in some rural areas can distribute various opportunities from urban to suburban areas; such as new jobs and new technologies. All thing considered, I am of the opinion that spending budget on the improvement of the public transport system plays a vital role in the development of a nation. Therefore governments should carefully consider which is most suitable for their countries.