Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

In today's world, due to Covis-19 pandemic the majority of educational institutions, including universities, organise online lessons in order to minimise risks of spreading the disease. Firstly, this essay will discuss one advantage of such an approach and, secondly, it will analyse a possible drawback of this development. To begin with, on the one hand, when having lessons on the Internet students are likely to save a lot of time and improve their time management skills. This is because not only do alumnus have to organise their time wisely and plan their schedule but also for such studying method a lot of responsibility is required. As a result, in addition to free time that people can use to visit extra curriculum activities and develop in other spheres, they become more independent and responsible. For example, scientists suggest that this educational approach stimulate teenagers to enter an adult's life and separate from childhood. However, on the other hand, it might be extremely hard to perceive information and concentrate on studying when having classes via messengers. This is due to the fact that not only might students be unfocused and care about other things instead of learning but also it is likely to be difficult for them to understand teachers when speaking virtually on the Internet. Therefore, if educational institutions continue to function online it might considerably deteriorate graduates' performance and grades. For instance, recent research has shown that during the lockdown in the UK more than 30% of university students had lower average grades than they used to have. Eventually, to conclude, in my opinion,demerits of this development far outweigh its merits. The main reason for this would be the fact that although online education may be less time -consuming it can not be as efficient as face-to-face learning.