Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, it is often observed that employers request candidates, who are appearing for a job interview, to fill up certain details such as marital status or what they do in their leisure time. Some individuals argue that such specific information could be advantageous for the organization. However; others disagree and argue that companies should not ask about the personal background of a person. This essay intends to analyze both prospects. Personally, I side with the former view. Since background information of an individual reveals a lot about the character of that particular person, therefore; it is sometimes mandatory to mention such details while applying for a job. If a company wants to maximize its profits, then they must know the capabilities of their employees. For instance, Google, which is a technology company, requested the candidates, who were appearing for the software development interview, to mention their field of interest. The company later used this information to design the cabins of the shortlisted candidates. Google believes that if an employee is comfortable in the office, then he would perform a task efficiently. Certain people believe that revealing personal details could be detrimental to them. Since recruiters sometimes request people to fill in their religion while applying for a job, therefore; such information could be used against them in the long run. While shortlisting the candidates, the recruiters could use this information to remove people from the list, which would contain the information of all the selected individuals. For example, Maruti, which is a car manufacturing company, did not hire candidates, who revealed that they belong to the Caucasian community. Can we allow such discrimination in the modern era? Certainly not! To conclude, revealing personal information could be advantageous for both the company and the individual, who is appearing for the interview. Although some people would argue that it could decrease the chances of a person to get hired by a company. However; I personally believe that such details would eventually reveal the character of a person.