Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than the other workers in a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, it is believed by some part of the population that senior managers should receive much higher salaries in comparison to other employees in the firm. I do not agree with this statement and this essay will discuss some evidences which, in turn, will support my opinion. To begin with, on the one hand, such an approach could easily demotivate the majority of workers withing the company and they might become aggressive and loose moral. This is because of the fact that if there is a large gap between the wages of manager and other staff the latter are likely to feel unvaluable and unnecessary. Therefore not only will they become less productive and have worse performance that, in turn, might decrease company's profits but, firthermore, a lrage number of employees might find this insufficient and leave their work place. For instance, recent research has shown that when the salary of senior managers was increased subordinates' performance has deteriorated by 10%. Moreover, if a business has a tall organisational structure and it has a lot of managers such a raise in wages can significantly increased firm's costs. This is due to the fact that wages for employees are included into fixed costs and are subtracting from revenue when calculating profits. As a result, not only might the company have much lower net profit but also it could have a net loss. For example, economic analysts suggest that with such an approach an enterprise might loose 10 or even 20% of its income. Eventually, to conclude, I disagree with the fact that senior managers ' wages should be considerably higher that ordinary workers have since it has a lot of drawbacks. Firstly, it is likely to demotivate staff and damage their performance and, secondly, it might significantly increase costs for an enerprise and decrease their final profit.